Tags

Yia yia's cualiflower

We needed something to have with our dinner. Last night we had lamb so my dad and I made something he remembered helping his mom make.  Since she’s my grandmother and she’s Greek I would call her yia yia (or grandma in greek).  So here’s how to make it.

You’ll need:

  • 2 medium cauliflower (cleaned, cored, and cut into thick slices)
  • 8 medium ripe tomatoes (peeled and quartered)
  • 2 cups dried white or yellow onions
  • 8 whole peeled garlic cloves
  • 1 cup plus 1/2 cup of olive oil
  • 8 oz. of butter
  • 1/2 teaspoons paprika
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1-8 oz can of tomato sauce

Procedures:

  1. Mix 1/2 c. olive oil and paprika, beat the mixture to mixDSCN2851
  2. Lay the thick sliced cauliflower on grill pans and baste both sides with the paprika mixtureDSCN2853
  3. Place the grill pans under the broiler in oven and brown the cauliflower turning to brown on all sides.DSCN2861
  4. While cauliflower is browning melt the 8 oz. of butter in the paprika/olive oil mixtureDSCN2854 Then saute the onions and garlic cloves in the mixture in a large pot.DSCN2860
  5. Wash, peel, and quarter 8 tomatoes (my dad is burning the tomatoes because it makes the easier to peel.DSCN2859
  6. When the onion is translucent add the tomatoes.DSCN2863
  7. Stir tomato mixture over medium heat until the tomatoes start breaking down.
  8. Add the cinnamon and keep stirring.DSCN2864
  9. Add the browned cauliflower and keep stirring.
  10. Add 1-8 oz. can tomato sauce.
  11. Cover the pot and cook the cauliflower mixture for 40 min. or until tender on medium heat. Cook uncovered until sauce thickens.
  12. Salt and pepper to taste, serve warm in a bowl with crusty bread.

This side dish should serve eight.

Both my parents enjoyed this one, but my mom said it needed more tomato, less oil. So before I wrote this my dad and I had to revise it.

